Back Need help
189 OnDemand views

Gut health in young broilers, a prerequisite for future performance

Gut health in young broilers, a prerequisite for future performance

Optimal intestinal health and functionality is a prerequisite for sustainable animal production. Infections of the gastrointestinal tract is a major source of loss of efficiency, downtime and additional costs for veterinary treatment. Supporting gut development from the earliest stage, at a young age, works on two fronts. On the one hand it is important in the context of reduction of the use of antibiotics. On the other hand it stimulates the future development and performance of the broiler.

Moderator: Fabian Brockotter, editor World Poultry


Partners:

Title to be confirmed
Speaker: Maarten de Gussem, Vetworks


Title to be confirmed
Speaker: Katia Pedrosa, poultry nutritionist, Hamlet Protein

Likewise piglets feed, the formulation and selection of raw materials in diets for young broilers have a great impact on gut health. Many ingredients that are considered good to include in poultry diets have some negative  aspects that shouldn’t be ignored and “solved” with feed additives or antibiotics. When removing/reducing the levels of Anti-nutritional factors (ANFs) we can immediately see an improvement on digestibility and villi height and crypt depth ratio (VH:CD) which is an indicator of gut health. We have done extensive studies on intestinal development by removing ANF from the soy (as much as possible) reflecting a positive effect on the overall performance. A part from that we are moving towards a production without Antibiotic growth promoters (AGP) and by reducing ANFs in the feed and therefore providing a stable gut we can reach the same or even better performance than with AGPs. This can be considered as an alternative.




Ho additives incerease broiler profitability
Speaker: Geert Wielsma, Gut health portfolio director, Perstorp

Improving gut health is becoming more and more important to reach optimal performance in broilers. With the reduction of AGP’s and therapeutic antibiotic usage, additives are becoming an essential tool to manage gut health. But in the ever growing list of alternatives, making the right choices is becoming a real challenge for nutritionists. We will address this issue and provide insights in proven ways to optimize gut health and increase performance.
Title to be confirmed
Speaker: Edgar Oviedo, North Carolina State University, Novus

Protein digestibility is suboptimal in young broilers, but their amino acid needs have increased to achieve genetic potential for muscle growth.  Protein digestibility needs to be improved to minimize nitrogen excretion, ammonia, and organic compounds that create environmental problems.  Higher nitrogen emissions are related to wet litter, skin and respiratory issues, and gut bacterial proliferation that could lead to intestinal health issues.  This presentation will discuss how exogenous enzymes, especially proteases are proven tools to minimize all these problems and improve broiler productivity.

The webinar will last one and a half hour and will start on November 16, at 15.30 am Central European Time. This corresponds to e.g. 9.30 am Atlanta, Georgia, 12.30 pm São Paulo, Brazil, 5.30 pm in Moscow, Russia, 9.30 pm in Bangkok, Thailand and 10.30 pm in Beijing, China. For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment. Join our experts, attendance is free.

Wednesday

16

November 2016

This webinar has already occurred, you have to be logged in to watch it.