Upcoming webinars Need help
156 OnDemand views

Alltech Webinar: Antibiotic Reduction

Alltech Webinar: Antibiotic Reduction

Pig Progress is proud to announce a webinar dedicated to the theme of antibiotic reduction in cooperation with partner, animal nutrition and health company, Alltech.   The webinar will be broadcast live from Amsterdam on Thursday, October 13, 2016. 

Historically, low levels of antibiotics had been included in pig diets to promote digestive health and growth.   However, an increasing number of reports on antibiotic-resistant bacteria in animals and humans have raised concerns about the current use of antibiotics, both as a treatment for humans and to combat disease in animals. A deeper understanding of resistance, as well as more attention to disease prevention, is needed to help the industry address this matter.   In this webinar, veterinary consultant Dr. Anna Catharina Berge will discuss the importance of this issue as well as the benefits of an antibiotic reduction programme for pig production. 

Find out more on October 13. Attendance is free.


Preventive veterinary medicine

Berge is an academic advisor to Ghent University’s veterinary epidemiology unit, and she is also the owner of Berge Veterinary Consulting BVBA. As such, she is heavily involved in preventive veterinary medicine. She has extensive expertise in zoonotic diseases, antimicrobial use and antimicrobial resistance.  

Berge specialises in finding alternatives to antibiotics to prevent and cure disease, including nutritional approaches to improve productivity and health, and biosecurity measures. In addition to being a guest lecturer at Ghent University, she is working closely with the Belgian Center of Expertise on Antimicrobial Consumption and Resistance in Animals (AMCRA). 

Her mission is to improve animal welfare and health, while protecting public health. Through her company, she provides expertise and scientific support on epidemiology, bacteriology, antimicrobial resistance, clinical and field trials, production animal health and welfare. Berge also conducts gut health and pig disease workshops for those involved in pig production.

The webinar will be hosted by Vincent ter Beek, editor for Pig Progress.

Webinar time
The webinar will be broadcast live from Amsterdam, the Netherlands at 1.15pm Central European Time. This corresponds with:
• 2.15pm in Moscow, Russia;
• 12.15pm in London, UK;
• 8.15am in São Paulo, Brazil or Santiago, Chile;
• 7.15am in New York, NY, USA;
• 6.15am in Chicago, IL, USA;

For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment.

Join our experts, attendance is free.

Thursday

13

October 2016

This webinar has already occurred, you have to be logged in to watch it.