Upcoming webinars Need help
116 OnDemand views

Microbial diversity: The key to gut health

Microbial diversity: The key to gut health

Pig Progress is proud to announce a webinar dedicated to the theme of microbial diversity in cooperation with partner, animal nutrition and health company, Alltech.   The webinar will be broadcast live from Amsterdam on Wednesday, June 14, 2017. 

The diversity of a pig’s microbiome varies along the different regions of the gastro-intestinal tract, with some regions having less tolerable conditions and containing reduced microbial diversity in comparison to regions that are more favourable to microbial growth. The challenges of modern production practices can restrict the diversity of the gastro-intestinal microflora, in some instances resulting in an unhealthy imbalance, which can lead to the development of a vicious cycle of pathogen colonisation and recolonisation. 

Sign up today and learn more on June 14. Attendance is free.


Microflora diversity and gut health

In the webinar ‘Microbial diversity: The key to gut health’, Dr Richard Murphy, research director at the Alltech European Bioscience Centre in Dunboyne, Ireland, will address the importance of microflora diversity in gut health. He will explain how the company aims to repair and rehabilitate the gut microflora by making changes in the overall microbial diversity of the gut, reducing pathogen load, enhancing the gut’s resistance to pathogen colonisation and reducing the abundance of antibiotic-resistant strains. 

Dr Murphy received a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry in 1994 from the National University of Ireland, Galway. Subsequently, he received a research scholarship from Alltech and earned his doctorate in the Department of Biochemistry at the National University of Ireland, Galway in 1999. He maintains strong links with numerous universities and research institutions and has been appointed as an adjunct professor on the faculty of science and health studies at Dublin City University. 

His current research activities are diverse and include peptide biomarker detection, molecular fingerprinting of microbial populations, antimicrobial resistance, biogas production and transcriptional control, and regulation of protein production.

The webinar will be hosted by Vincent ter Beek, editor for Pig Progress.

Webinar time
The webinar will be broadcast live from Amsterdam, the Netherlands at 10.00am Central European Time. This corresponds with:
• 11am in Moscow, Russia;
• 9am in London, UK;
• 3pm in Bangkok, Thailand;
• 4pm in Beijing, China;
• 5pm in Tokyo, Japan;
• 6pm in Melbourne, Australia;
• 8pm in Auckland, New Zealand;

For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment.

Join our experts, attendance is free.

Wednesday

14

June 2017

This webinar has already occurred, you have to be logged in to watch it.