Upcoming webinars Need help
140 OnDemand views

Improving Feed Efficiency

Improving Feed Efficiency

Webinar: Improving feed efficiency

The money spent on animal feed takes up the majority of the production costs on a farm. So it makes sense to get the most out of every kilogram of feed that is consumed by the animals, known as feed efficiency. This is not new, but even more relevant than ever, as constantly changing dynamics in agriculture keeps on challenging the animal protein sector.
With tailor made feeding strategies and use of new types of feed additives, we enter the next stage of feed efficiency. In this webinar we will discuss different ways to improve feed efficiency and to further improve animal performance.

Eubiotic nutrition for optimal feed efficiency and performance
The use of vegetable proteins and the ban on antibiotic growth promoters (AGP’s), makes it a real challenge for nutritionists to formulate high quality diets for high performing production animals, like broilers. The concept of ‘Eubiotic Nutrition’ combines modern nutritional principles with the use of non-antibiotic feed additives to create a status of Eubiosis in the GI-tract and to achieve optimal performances for maximum profitability. In this webinar, poultry consultant Hannes Meyns explains the the three principles of this concept and updates the viewers on how multiple enzymes, lysolecithins and alpha-monoglycerides from short chain and medium chain fatty acids can help to achieve optimal feed efficient and performance. 

An accurate database: essential for efficient feeding
In order to obtain a high feed efficiency, it is essential to differentiate in feed evaluation systems for different animal categories, as well as for different production goals in livestock. Schothorst Feed Research has developed energy evaluation system for the different monogastric animal categories over the years, which result in improved feed efficiencies and reduced feed costs. In this webinar, Piet van der Aar from Schothorst Feed Research in the Netherlands will explain the different existing energy systems for pigs and for poultry and will delve further in the best way of evaluating different feedstuffs. 

A new approach to improve fat digestion for optimal feed efficiency
Even a minor imbalance of the diet causes improper absorption of nutrients and thus results in their wastage. Especially dietary fats are prone to a huge variability that is typically not taken into account when diets are being formulated on a daily basis. In this webinar, Dr. Matias Jansen from animal nutrition company Kemin will discuss the variable nutritional quality of various fats and oils based on more than 500 analyses of samples collected throughout the EMENA and CIS region. He will also clarify how this variability affects live stock performance throughout the industry and he will review the complex process of fat digestion. 


Speakers:

HannesMeyns =
PietvanderAar
matiasjansen
Hannes Meyns
Consultant & Poultry Veterinarian
Framelco
Dr. Piet van der Aar
Research director 
Schothorst Feed Research
Dr. Matias Jansen
Scientist 
Kemin



The webinar will be hosted by Emmy Koeleman, editor for All about Feed.

The webinar Feed efficiency will last an hour and will start at 11 am Central European Summer Time on September 6. This corresponds to e.g. 5 am Atlanta, Georgia, 6 am São Paulo, Brazil, 12 am (noon) in Moscow, Russia, 4 pm in Bangkok, Thailand and 5 pm in Beijing, China.
For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment. 
Join our experts, attendance is free.

Wednesday

6

September 2017

This webinar has already occurred, you have to be logged in to watch it.