Upcoming webinars Need help
87 OnDemand views

How to limit the impact of intact beaks on animal welfare in parent stock

How to limit the impact of intact beaks on animal welfare in parent stock

How to limit the impact of intact beaks on animal welfare in parent stock

In this Poultry World webinar we delve into the possibilities to limit the impact of intact beaks in parent stock. What is the best way forward with stopping the invasive procedure, without resulting in feather pecking or even cannibalism.

Birds are ‘equipped’ by mother nature with a formidable set of weapons. With toes and especially beaks they are able to cause each other quite some harm, especially in modern animal husbandry systems. That is why beak trimming, became a standard operating procedure, with the hot blade and later via infrared treatment directly after hatch. However, with stricter legislation concerning animal welfare, alternatives to beak trimming have been under investigation.

Senior researcher of Wageningen University, Ingrid de Jong will share her experiences from studying several trials with intact beaks breeders and will explain the possibilities to prevent birds from starting to peck at each other. Furthermore she will give insights in what to do if the birds start pecking. What management tools are at hand.

Yousef Daoud, product manager breeders at Roxell will explain how natural beak smoothing can safe feed consumption on the one hand and prevent mortality due to pecking on the other hand. With the ‘Natural Beak Smoothing concept’ the beak growth of broiler breeders will be controlled continuously while they are fed.  

Speakers:

Ingrid de Jong =
Yousef Daoud
Ingrid de Jong
Senior researcher
Wageningen University
Yousef Daoud
product manager breeders
Roxell



The webinar will be hosted by Fabian Brockotter, editor for Poultry World.

The webinar will be broadcast live from Amsterdam, the Netherlands at 15.30pm Central European Time. This corresponds with:
• 9.30am in Atlanta, GA; 
• 16.30pm in Moscow, Russia; 
• 14.30pm in London, UK; 
• 20.30pm in Bangkok, Thailand; 
• 21.30pm in Beijing, China; 

For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment. 
Join our experts, attendance is free.

Thursday

29

June 2017

This webinar has already occurred, you have to be logged in to watch it.