Upcoming webinars Need help
100 OnDemand views

Antibiotic-free solutions to control BCO lameness

Antibiotic-free solutions to control BCO lameness

Antibiotic-free solutions to control BCO lameness

Poultry World, together with professor Robert Wideman and Luis Valenzuela from Biomin will feature a webinar on antibiotic-free solutions to control BCO lameness.

Bacterial chondronecrosis and osteomyelitis (BCO) lameness restricts birds’ natural movement –reducing feed and water intake– and constitutes a significant factor in morbidity and mortality. As a result, it compromises flock performance and profitability. Conventional strategies to control BCO lameness have involved antibiotic treatment—a less favorable option in light of the trend in consumer and regulatory demand for the reduction or removal of antibiotics from poultry production. Fortunately, scientific research has demonstrated how better gut performance can support flock profitability without antibiotics, either in a conventional or antibiotic-free system. Join the live webinar to hear from distinguished guest speaker, Prof. Robert Wideman of the Department of Poultry Science at the University of Arkansas, USA, who will share knowledge on identifying and controlling lameness in poultry, and from Luis Valenzuela, Product Manager for PoultryStar® at BIOMIN. Moderated by Fabian Brockötter, editor of Poultry World, the live webinar provides you the opportunity to exchange ideas with experts in real time.

Dr. Wideman began his career at Penn State University, where he rose to the rank of Professor of Poultry Science while teaching graduate and undergraduate courses in Physiology, and conducting research related to calcium metabolism and kidney damage in laying hens. In 1993 Professor Wideman was recruited as the Distinguished Professor of Poultry Science and Arkansas Poultry Federation Chair at the University of Arkansas. He served as Professor and Associate Director of the Center of Excellence for Poultry Science. Professor Wideman recently retired as an Emeritus Professor.In his present position, professor Wideman is involved in Advisory Services to the Feed & Animal Industries: Poultry feed formulation, feed milling technology, R&D Project Development, technical support to Italian users of NC Singlemix®, a Formulation Software by Format International Ltd.

Luis Valenzuela joined BIOMIN as Product Manager Microbials in January 2017, representing the PoultryStar® product line. He holds a BSc in animal production at National Pingtung University of Science and Technology (Taiwan) and MSc in fish nutrition at National Taiwan Ocean University (Taiwan). Luis also posses a degree from the Specialized School of Engineering ITCA-Fepade in El Salvador as Tec. Industrial Engineering. His expertise is related to the nutrition of monogastric animals and aquatic species. 

Speakers:

Robert F. Wideman =
Luis Valenzuela
Robert F. Wideman Jr.
Emeritus Professor
University of Arkansas
Luis Valenzuela
Product Manager Microbials
Biomin



The webinar will be hosted by Fabian Brockotter, editor for Poultry World.

The webinar will be broadcast live from Amsterdam, the Netherlands at 17.00pm Central European Time. This corresponds with:
• 11.00am in Atlanta, GA; 
• 18.00 in Moscow, Russia; 
• 16.00pm in London, UK; 
• 22.00pm in Bangkok, Thailand; 
• 23.00pm in Beijing, China; 

For anyone who is unable to follow the webinar, it will be available for streaming at any other date at a later moment. 
Join our experts, attendance is free.

Wednesday

28

June 2017

This webinar has already occurred, you have to be logged in to watch it.